Monday, June 4, 2018

Destroy Me by Tahereh Mafi

13623150Title: Destroy Me
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Series: Shatter Me #1.5
Publisher: Harper
Release Date: October 2, 2012

Perfect for fans of Shatter Me who are desperately awaiting the release of Unravel Me, this novella-length digital original will bridge the gap between these two novels from the perspective of the villain we all love to hate, Warner, the ruthless leader of Sector 45.
In Tahereh Mafi's Shatter Me, Juliette escaped from The Reestablishment by seducing Warner-and then putting a bullet in his shoulder. But as she'll learn in Destroy Me, Warner is not that easy to get rid of...
Back at the base and recovering from his near-fatal would, Warner must do everything in his power to keep his soldiers in check and suppress any mention of a rebellion in the sector. Still as obsessed with Juliette as ever, his first priority is to find her, bring her back, and dispose of Adam and Kenji, the two traitors who helped her escape. But when Warner's father, The Supreme Commander of The Reestablishment, arrives to correct his son's mistakes, it's clear that he has much different plans for Juliette. Plans Warner simply cannot allow.
Set after Shatter Me and before its forthcoming sequel, Unravel Me, Destroy Me is a novella told from the perspective of Warner, the ruthless leader of Sector 45.

what i liked
  • It's all about Warner!! He is hands-down my favorite character in this book series, so I was really excited that he had his own book, even if it was just a novella. I loved learning more about him, too. It was great to finally see what his inner thoughts are, especially about Juliette. If anything, this only made me like him more.
  • This was the book that made people change teams from Adam to Warner. I can see why! 

what i didn't like
  • It was too short! I know this is because it was only a novella, but I wanted even more of him. 

If you're reading the Shatter Me series or if you already have, definitely give this one a read. It adds to the world and the characters!

3 comments:

  1. I am totally #TeamWarner, though I have never read this novella. Novellas always leave me wanting, but I am glad it made you love Warner.

    ReplyDelete
  2. "Destroy Me" is definitely worth reading right before reading "Unravel Me", exposing the vulnerable, raw nature inside Warner and revealing to the readers another side of the calculating villain that they saw in "Shatter Me". I finished the short novella in a little less than an hour, so it's a quick read that's worth the time. In fact, it's really made me even more interested and excited for the sequel, so that I can see how their little love triangle unfolds!

    Zia
    You won't believe this Fishing Lodge Alaska Sitka

    ReplyDelete
  3. I've always wanted to read the Shatter Me series! Back in the days when it was first released (I sound so old lol), it was all over the place and I mourned not being able to grab copies. Will have to fix that soon! Warner sounds cool. ♥

    ReplyDelete

Hello there! (: Thanks so much for taking the time to comment. I read each and every one!