Monday, September 25, 2017

Freefall by Joshua David Bellin | Review

29838368Title: Freefall
Author: Joshua David Bellin
Publisher: McElderry Books
Release Date: September 26, 2017
Source: Netgalley

In the Upperworld, the privileged 1% are getting ready to abandon a devastated planet Earth. And Cam can't wait to leave. After sleeping through a 1,000-year journey, he and his friends will have a pristine new planet to colonize. And no more worries about the Lowerworld and its 99% of rejects.
Then Cam sees a banned video feed of protesters in the Lowerworld who also want a chance at a new life. And he sees a girl with golden eyes who seems to be gazing straight through the feed directly at him. A girl he has to find. Sofie.
When Cam finds Sofie, she opens his eyes to the unfairness of what's happening in their world, and Cam joins her cause for Lowerworld rights. He also falls hard for Sofie. But Sofie has her own battles to fight, and when it's time to board the spaceships, Cam is alone.
Waking up 1,000 years in the future, Cam discovers that he and his shipmates are far off-course, trapped on an unknown and hostile planet. Who has sabotaged their ship? And does it have anything to do with Sofie, and the choices-and the enemies-he made in the past?

**Thank you so much to the publisher for allowing me to read this in exchange for an honest review!**

As soon as I heard about Freefall, I knew that it was a book I'd be interested in. I love books that take place in space, nonetheless on spaceships. However, I found that I had heard a story like this one before, so it seemed a little bit like deja vu a lot of the time with the movie Passenger. I'm sure if I hadn't seen and loved that movie so much, I would've enjoyed this book a little more. Only the beginning had some Passenger-esque feels... that's where the connections stopped, so that's a good thing!

One thing I liked about this book was the year changes. There were flashbacks to Earth and then present scenes as well. It was a great way to weave in Cam's history on Earth and what it was like before he boarded the ship. I really liked learning about all the training he had to endure before boarding the ship, which was mentioned in the very beginning. 

I liked the idea of the Upperworld and the Lowerworld, and of course I liked Sofie. She opened Cam's eyes to what is really happening to the rest of the people if they aren't in the top 1%. I loved that the book was a very politically-rich book in that sense. 

Despite all that, I felt that there wasn't anything super special about this book. Sure, I enjoyed it a lot, but nothing spectacular really stood out to me, which is why I'm giving it three stars.


Monday, September 18, 2017

A Short History of the Girl Next Door

30040068Title: A Short History of the Girl Next Door
Author: Jared Reck
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Release Date: September 26, 2017
Source: Netgalley

The unrequited love of the girl next door is the centerpiece of this fiercely funny, yet heart-breaking debut novel.
Fifteen-year-old Matt Wainwright is in turmoil. He can't tell his lifelong best friend, Tabby, how he really feels about her; his promising basketball skills are being overshadowed by his attitude on the court, and the only place he feels normal is in English class, where he can express his inner thoughts in quirky poems and essays. Matt is desperately hoping that Tabby will reciprocate his feelings; but then Tabby starts dating Liam Branson, senior basketball star and all-around great guy. Losing Tabby to Branson is bad enough; but, as Matt soon discovers, he's close to losing everything that matters most to him.
Humorous and heart-wrenching, A Short History of the Girl Next Door is perfect for readers who fell in love with All the Bright Places' Finch or Stargirl's Leo. 

**Thanks so much to the publisher for allowing me to read this in exchange for an honest review!**

I'm going to start of this review by saying that this book is honestly perfect for fans of Jesse Andrews or John Green. Like the writing of this novel is literally on that level of greatness. After saying that, I'm not going to give a lot away in this review, because I think it's a whole lot of stuff that you've got to experience for yourself.

You'll absolutely fall in love with Matt. He goes through a lot of ups and downs and is falling for the girl across the street from him, Tabby. Matt also has his funny moments, and that's where he reminded me of some of Andrews' characters from Me and Earl and the Dying Girl.

Throughout the whole book, you're going to experience so much heartbreak, and this book will make you feel a whole lot of feels, maybe some you didn't even know you had. 

FYI, this isn't a love story, but it is an amazing contemporary.


Tuesday, September 12, 2017

Invictus | Review

33152795Title: Invictus
Author: Ryan Graudin
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Release Date: September 26, 2017
Source: Netgalley

Time flies when you're plundering history.
Farway Gaius McCarthy was born outside of time. The son of a time-traveling Recorder from 2354 AD and a gladiator living in Rome in 95 AD, Far's birth defies the laws of nature. Exploring history himself is all he's ever wanted, and after failing his final time-traveling exam, Far takes a position commanding a ship with a crew of his friends as part of a black market operation to steal valuables from the past.
But during a heist on the sinking Titanic, Far meets a mysterious girl who always seems to be one step ahead of him. Armed with knowledge that will bring Far's very existence into question, she will lead Far and his team on a race through time to discover a frightening truth: History is not as steady as it seams.
In this heart-stopping adventure, Ryan Graudin has created a fast-paced world that defies time and space. 

**Thanks so much to the publisher for allowing me to read this in exchange for an honest review!**

I had never read a book by Ryan Graudin before, so I was super pumped when Netgalley allowed this one as a read now option for the first 500 readers. Of course I jumped on the opportunity. 

This book is all about time travel, so that already caught my attention. I immediately got a few Doctor Who vibes throughout the book. Plus there's gladiators and the Titanic, etc. What's not to love?? 

Our main character was also born to two people from different times. It's so interesting. 

Despite the awesome time travel premise, I did find the book a little slow at times, but that may just be because I read it during summertime and I'm always in the mood for super fast-paced novels in the summer. Honestly, that's the only downside to this book. Sure, it was fast-paced at times, but it was a little slow sometimes. 

I know for sure that I'm going to check out Graudin's past books now!

Monday, September 4, 2017

MY NEW FAVORITE BOOK


27426044Title: Nyxia
Author: Scott Reintgen
Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers
Release Date: September 12, 2017
Source: Netgalley
Genre: Science Fiction, Dystopian
Series: The Nyxia Triad #1

Emmett Atwater isn't just leaving Detroit; he's leaving Earth. Why the Babel Corporation recruited him is a mystery, but the number of zeroes on their contract has him boarding their lightship and hoping to return to Earth with enough money to take care of his family.
Forever.
Before long, Emmett discovers that he is one of ten recruits, all of whom have troubled pasts and are a long way from home. Now each recruit must earn the right to ravel down to the planet of Eden-a planet that Babel has kept hidden-where they will mine a substance called Nyxia that has quietly become the most valuable material in the universe.
But Babel's ship is full of secrets. And Emmett will face the ultimate choice: win the fortune at any cost, or find a way to fight that won't forever compromise what it means to be human.

**Thank you so much to the publisher for allowing me to read this in exchange for an honest review!**

 what i liked
  • Emmett. He was such an awesome main character, and I loved watching his character development throughout the entire book. He's come from a rough home life so he has been through some tough shit, which allows him to fight with everything he's got in this competition.
  • THERE'S A COMPETITION. I don't know why, but books with competitions always grab my attention, i.e. The Selection, Divergent, The Hunger Games, etc. Nyxia was no exception. In this book, the prize is to be able to go to Eden. The thing is, there are 10 people on the ship, but only 8 get to go. So there's fights/duels, team activities, brain games, and other activities and everyone's scored. At the end, the people with the top 8 scores get to go to Eden. 
  • Did I mention there's a spaceship?? YEAH. Eden is a planet that is now deemed habitable, so the spaceship is going there. 
  • Babel Corporation is fishy as hell. There's definitely something going on with them, because as we all know, most corporations in science fiction novels are corrupt. 
  • A romance blossoms in Nyxia. What's not to love about romance? 
  • A super awesome thing called nyxia exists. Basically, it's this element that you can form with your brain, and it's found on Eden, and all the competitors are trained to use it. When they get to Eden, they'll be mining for it since it's worth billions of bucks on Earth.
  • A crazy plot twist occurs, and boy did it spin the book around. I didn't see it coming, and it completely through me for a loop. But it definitely upped the suspense!
what i didn't like
  • The wait that I'm going to have to endure until book two!!
overall
Nyxia is going to be the book that brings back the popularity of young adult science fiction. Filled with suspense, clever characters, and a deadly corporation, Nyxia is sure to keep you guessing after the very last page.