Friday, August 18, 2017

An Epic Fantasy Must-Read

29960675Title: Mask of Shadows
Author: Linsey Miller
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Release Date; August 29, 2017

Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Leigh Bardugo, the first book in this new duology features a compelling gender fluid main character, impressive worldbuilding, and fast-paced action.
Sallot Leon is a thief, and a good one at that. But gender fluid Sal wants nothing more than to escape the drudgery of life as a highway robber and get closer to the upper-class-and the nobles who destroyed their home.
When Sal steals a flyer for an audition to become a member of The Left Hand-the Queen's personal assassins, named after the rings she wears-Sal jumps at the chance to infiltrate the court and get revenge.
But the audition is a fight to the death filled with clever circus acrobats, lethal apothecaries, and vicious ex-soldiers. A childhood as a common criminal hardly prepared Sal for the trials. And as Sal succeeds in the competition, and wins the heart of Elise, an intriguing scribe at court, they start to dream of a new life and a different future, but one that Sal can have only if they survive.

**Thank you so much to the publisher for allowing me to read this in exchange for an honest review!**

what i liked
  • The worldbuilding is amazing. Miller created a world that is a cross between Game of Thrones and Throne of Glass. I loved it. There's fighting to the death, there's a world ravaged by war, and there's a group of people vying to be the next Opal for the Queen. Plus, there's assassins. What's not to love?
  • Sal was lovely. I've not read many YA books with a gender-fluid character, and for those I have, they were all in contemporary novels. That's what makes Sal awesome--they is a main protagonist in a fantasy novel. 
  • The suspense in this novel kept me reading. It's been a long time since a book has kept me up late at night, and this book is the exception. I literally had to take a nap in order to make up for all the sleep I felt I lost during the night, which never happens!

what i disliked
  • Literally nothing!! Besides the fact that now I have to wait awhile for the next book, of course...

overall
Mask of Shadows is great for readers looking for a new epic fantasy to delve into.

3 comments:

  1. I've heard nothing but great things about this, and your review just adds to it! I'm glad to hear that it kept you up reading all night - that's how you know a book is really good! I can't wait to pick this one up!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I've heard so many great things about this book and it's on my tbr, but I have to get my hands on a copy soon. It sounds really interesting!

    ReplyDelete
  3. WOOOOW! I've seen mixed reviews of this and I am so happy you loved it!

    Kate @ The Bookaholic Blurbs

    ReplyDelete

Hello there! (: Thanks so much for taking the time to comment. I read each and every one!