Monday, August 15, 2016

With Malice by Eileen Cook | Review

26153925Title: With Malice
Author: Eileen Cook
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Release Date: June 7, 2016
Source: Publisher for Review
Genre: Contemporary/Mystery
Edition: eARC

For fans of We Were Liars and The Girl on the Train comes a chilling, addictive, compulsive read about a teenage girl who wakes up in a hospital bed and cannot remember the last six weeks of her life, including the accident that killed her best friend--only what if the accident wasn't an accident?
Eighteen-year-old Jill Charron wakes up in a hospital room, leg in a cast, stitches in her face and a big blank canvas where the last 6 weeks should be. She comes to discover she was involved in a fatal accident while on a school trip in Italy three days previous but was jetted home by her affluent father in order to receive quality care. Care that includes a lawyer. And a press team. Because maybe the accident... wasn't an accident. Wondering not just what happened but what she did, Jill tries to piece together the events of the past six weeks before she loses her thin hold on her once-perfect life.

**Thank you so much to the publisher for allowing me to read this in exchange for an honest review!**

I don't know about you, but most thrillers and mysteries don't end well for me. I'll be reading a book and within the first 40% of the book or so I can already see how it's all going to end. Though my past has really put me off from reading thrillers and mysteries, I couldn't shake the feeling that With Malice was going to be something different. Boy, was I right.

I was going to Yale, for crying out loud. How could anyone think I was guilty of murder?

With Malice follows a girl named Jill who has just woken up in the hospital only to find out that she's missing six weeks of her life. What's even worse is that her best friend is dead and everyone thinks it was her fault since she was driving the car that killed the two of them. She has also forgotten going to Italy and has therefore forgotten her most recent memories of her best friend. 

Jill was a very great character. I've read books before where a main character is suffering from a form of aphasia, but I found it to be done best in With Malice. Jill didn't remember anything which really made the story more suspenseful to me as a reader too, which definitely added to the story overall. Simone honestly seemed like such a horrible person that I oftentimes wondered why Jill was ever friends with her in the first place. She seemed to even blame all the bad stuff in her life on Jill which really is messed up. 

Maybe I only wanted to believe I was the kind of person who would never do something to Simone.

One of my favorite things about this novel was that every other chapter was tidbits of interviews and articles from websites about new information that was coming to light regarding Jill's case. I honestly lived for those chapters because they revealed so much and always made me anxious to find out what really happened that night that Simone died. 

Before I end this review, I thought I should mention that lately I haven't really found a book that is so unputdownable that I've read it all in one sitting super late at night until the very early morning. With Malice broke that streak. I was up until 3 am reading this book and then I sat and thought about it for what felt like a while! I know that I'll for sure be recommending With Malice to anyone looking for a thrilling and suspenseful read.


10 comments:

  1. Fantastic review! I am so glad you enjoyed this one as well. I really, really liked it, especially since most YA thrillers aren't that compelling, but this one definitely was. I thought it was really suspenseful, too!

    ReplyDelete
  2. This has also been one of my favorite reads of the year. Glad you liked it:)

    Paulina @ The Little Book Pixie

    ReplyDelete
  3. OOoh nice!! This quickly made my wishlist once I heard how awesome of a thriller/mystery it was! I live for those! LOL! Especially YA ones because I think (for the most part) they're done rather well! And they don't get overly confusing with all the twists and details like some of the adult ones can be! I can usually follow those, but sometimes the adult ones get soooo twisted with their twists and spins I'm like how did we from A to Q to Z? Haha! Glad to hear this one was good though! I have high hopes for it, which is why I immediately moved it to my wishlist after reading a few reviews! Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  4. YAY!!! SO glad you loved this!! I was SO happy to find this book as I'd been on an EPIC search for awesome YA Mysteries/Thrillers and had been having super bad luck!! SO glad I found this when I did. I loved the ending. And the memory loss. Sometimes that trope gets old, but I thought it worked great here! Great review and YAY to the books that keep us up late at night :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. This was such a great review Krystianna! You convinced me to add this to my TBR. I've been hesitant to do so, but for not rational reason! :D I haven't read a book that has kept me up in the wee hours of the night for quite a while. The interviews, articles, and new info really intrigues me! I love when mixed media is in books. :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. Wow, this sounds really good. I've been seeing good reviews for it and the memory loss thing really has me interested. Plus I like little touches like the interviews and snippets like that, it adds something to the story. Nice review!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I have to recommend reading The Girl on the Train: A Novel.
    I just finished reading it today, and I think its a very interesting book.

    I brought mine from Amazon and I got it in just two days.
    Here is the link for the book on Amazon:
    The Girl on the Train: A Novel

    ReplyDelete
  8. I am glad you could love this one! I have been seeing a whole lot of different opinions so this book definitely has me curious. I really like the sound of this one including interviews and articles in the chapters though :)

    ReplyDelete
  9. Terrific review!! I loved this book as well. I think this is one I read it one day. It's so good. I'm glad you enjoyed it. :D

    ReplyDelete
  10. awesome review!! I recently brought this book and now it is on the top of my tbr pile

    ReplyDelete

Hello there! (: Thanks so much for taking the time to comment. I read each and every one!