Friday, July 1, 2016

Secrets, Lies, and Scandals by Amanda K. Morgan | Blog Tour


Secrets, Lies, & Scandals
by Amanda K. Morgan
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Release Date: July 5th 2016
Genre: Young Adult, Thriller, Mystery

In the tradition of I Know What You Did Last Summer and How to Get Away with Murder, five teens must overcome their paranoia in order to keep their teacher’s death a secret in this fast-paced suspense thriller.
Nothing ruins summer vacation like a secret…especially when it involves a dead teacher.
Ivy used to be on top of the social ladder, until her ex made that all go away. She has a chance to be Queen Bee again, but only if the rest of the group can keep quiet.
Tyler has always been a bad boy, but lately he’s been running low on second chances. There’s no way he’s going to lose everything because someone couldn’t keep their mouth shut.
Kinley wouldn’t describe herself as perfect, though everyone else would. But perfection comes at a price, and there is nothing she wouldn’t do to keep her perfect record—one that doesn’t include murder charges.
Mattie is only in town for the summer. He wasn’t looking to make friends, and he definitely wasn’t looking to be involved in a murder. He’s also not looking to be riddled with guilt for the rest of his life…but to prevent that he’ll have to turn them all in.
Cade couldn’t care less about the body, or about the pact to keep the secret. The only way to be innocent is for someone else to be found guilty. Now he just has to decide who that someone will be.
With the police hot on the case, they don’t have much time to figure out how to trust each other. But in order to take the lead, you have to be first in line…and that’s the quickest way to get stabbed in the back.


As soon as I saw that this was being pitched as similar to the hit TV series How to Get Away With Murder, I knew that I was going to have to check it out. I've been obsessed with the show and would absolutely love anything similar to it. 

Secrets, Lies, and Scandals follows 5 main characters, which I honestly think is awesome. Each character winds up in the same college psychology course with Dr. Stratford. None of them are the biggest fan of him, especially because of the way that he treats his students. During a psychology test one day, Dr. Stratford ends up dead. Before long, the five of them are on the run to try to figure out a way to cover up what they had done. 

This book was so incredibly suspenseful. I was constantly flipping pages because I wanted to know what was going to happen next. Were they going to get caught? Were any of the characters going to enter into a romance? I just wanted to know everything. My heart was beating pretty fast at some parts too, which just added to my enjoyment! I was very immersed in the story.

I really loved that there were five different point of views too. I've always been a huge fan of stories with many characters. The first character that the reader is introduced to is Ivy, who is immediately stuck in a very difficult situation as a vending machine has actually fallen on top of her. It was pushed on her by none other than her best friends. She is saved by her ex boyfriend. In addition, she is basically the most popular girl in school. 

Next is Mattie. He's in town staying with his aunt when all he really wants to do is be back home with his boyfriend who happens to be hanging around his ex boyfriend quite a lot. Kinley is the classic A student who has never had a teacher dislike her. All she wants is for Dr. Stratford to take her seriously because she wants to learn. Tyler, the troublemaker, immediately takes a liking to Kinley and thinks she's super attractive. Lastly is Cade, who wanted to spend the summer with his girlfriend Bekah traveling along Route 66. That all goes awry when his father tells him that he enrolled him in a psychology course instead. Even though there were a handful of characters, each was completely different and I never got confused about whose point of view I was reading through, which was awesome. Every character's point of view was enjoyable to read through too, so I never had to sit through boring parts.

I continued to flip through the pages very quickly until the very end. I can honestly say that if you're a big fan of thrillers and murder stories, then this story is one that you need to add to your to-read list. 





 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg


Follow the Secrets, Lies & Scandals by Amanda K. Morgan Blog Tour and don't miss anything! Click on the banner to see the tour schedule.



Amanda K. Morgan is a freelance writer living in Nashville, TN. She covers events and works as a technical writer when she isn't working on her YA novels.

At age 15, Amanda finished her first novel and continued to write in college, where she graduated Magna Cum Laude with a degree in English and an emphasis in Creative Writing.

Amanda is an avid volleyball player and spends time playing both indoors and out. When Amanda isn't writing, she enjoys being entirely too busy and trying new things. Endeavors as of late include appearances in music videos, TV, and movies, rock climbing, and attending as many concerts and shows as her schedule allows.

Amanda headed up the Do The Write Thing for Nashville Project (with co-organizers/authors Victoria Schwab and Myra McEntire), which tapped some of the biggest authors, editors, and agents in the industry for an online auction that raised over $70,000 for Midsouth flood relief.


Rules & Conditions in the Rafflecopter | Open INTERNATIONALLY





1 comment:

  1. Ooo this one sounds so good! I've seen mixed reviews for it, but it sounds great. :D

    ReplyDelete

Hello there! (: Thanks so much for taking the time to comment. I read each and every one!