Friday, July 8, 2016

Learning to Swear in America by Katie Kennedy | Review

23018259Title: Learning to Swear in America
Author: Katie Kennedy
Release Date: July 5, 2016
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Genre: Contemporary/Science fiction

Brimming with humor and one-of-a-kind characters, this end-of-the world novel will grab hold of Andrew Smith and Rainbow Rowell fans. 
An asteroid is hurtling toward Earth. A big, bad one. Yuri, a physicist prodigy from Russia, has been called to NASA as they calculate a plan to avoid disaster. He knows how to stop the asteroid: his research in antimatter will probably win him a Nobel prize--if there's ever another Nobel prize awarded. But Yuri's 17, and having a hard time making older, stodgy physicists listen to him. Then he meets Dovie, who lives like a normal teenager, oblivious to the impending doom. Being with her, on the adventures she plans when he's not at NASA, Yuri catches a glimpse of what it means to save the world and save a life worth living.
Prepare to laugh, cry, cringe, and have your mind burst open with questions of the universe. 

**Thanks so much to the publisher for allowing me to read this in exchange for an honest review!**

Learning to Swear in America follows a Russian physicist named Yuri who may soon be the youngest person ever to win a Nobel Prize. However, the world may end because there's an asteroid hurtling straight towards California, so that Nobel Prize dream may never come true. Yuri is sent to America to help stop the asteroid from hitting Earth, though nobody really takes him seriously. That's when he meets a girl named Dovie, who really allows him to find out what being a teenager in America is all about. He even gets taken to prom!

Yuri was such a great character. I really liked that you could tell he wasn't American because of the way that the author made him talk. He was very lovable too, especially because of how intelligent he was. Sometimes he was so intelligent that even I felt a little taken aback! Besides Yuri, Dovie was awesome too. She really helped Yuri break out of his shell and realize that sure, he can be super smart all the time, but he should also take some breaks from all of the hard work and experience real life as a teenager. I mean, you're only this young once! He should go out and adventure, which Dovie definitely has him do.

The entire storyline for Learning to Swear in America was very intriguing. I mean, an asteroid hurting towards Earth that could potentially devastate North America?! How much more interesting could it possibly get? I also loved that this book was borderline contemporary, even though it was mainly a science fiction novel. It combined two of my all time favorite genres! The synopsis states that the book is perfect for fans of Andrew Smith and Rainbow Rowell, and I completely agree!

I know for sure that this is one novel that I'm going to recommend to others who are looking for a read that's a bit different. 


7 comments:

  1. Great review! This book sounds like a lot of fun! I love when a character is supposed to be extremely intelligent, and the author actually shows that. There are so many books in this world in which the protagonist is supposed to be super smart but the author provides no evidence of that. Thanks for the review!

    - Lefty @ The Left-Handed Book Lover

    ReplyDelete
  2. Sounds like a fun read, and I really like the title! :D

    ReplyDelete
  3. I know is not out yet, but I am contemplating if to read it or not. Looks perfect for my dystopia challenge, but I need something light and out of normal, so I guess that I might read it.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I've never heard this book before but it sounds really interesting! I've read so many contemporaries and they all seem the same now so it'd be cool to read this with the whole science fiction aspect mixed it! I'll definitely check this out. Lovely review!

    Laura @BlueEyeBooks

    ReplyDelete
  5. That was one that I thought sounded really good! Great review, now I'm even more intrigued to read it.

    ReplyDelete
  6. What an interesting sounding novel. I've seen this one around, but didn't know what is was about. I'm glad I read your review because it sounds like a great read. Thanks for the awesome review!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I've seen this around, of course, but never read the synopsis. This sounds like a fun book that I'll have to check out!

    ReplyDelete

Hello there! (: Thanks so much for taking the time to comment. I read each and every one!