Friday, July 22, 2016

Into the Dim by Janet B. Taylor | Review ft. Outlander

25897792Title: Into the Dim
Author: Janet B. Taylor
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Release Date: March 1, 2016
Source: Netgalley
Genre: Time Travel
Edition: eARC
Series: Into the Dim #1
When fragile, sixteen-year-old Hope Walton loses her mom to an earthquake overseas, her secluded world crumbles. Agreeing to spend the summer in Scotland, Hope discovers that her mother was more than a brilliant academic, but also a member of a secret society of time travelers. Trapped in the twelfth century in the age of Eleanor of Aquitaine, Hope has seventy-two hours to rescue her mother and get back to their own time. Along the way, her path collides with that of a mysterious boy who could be vital to her mission... or the key to Hope's undoing.







**Thank you so much to the publisher for allowing me to read this in exchange for an honest review!**

I don't know about you guys, but I'm a sucker for historical fiction. I just don't read it as much as I'd like to, but when I do, I love it. There's just something magical about going back into the past and experiencing what it possibly could have been like.
Into the Dim follows a girl named Hope whose mother just died. Her mother's sister gets in touch with her father and suggests that she come to Scotland for the summer. Hope ends up going because her father has a cruise planned with his new girlfriend. When she gets to Scotland, she finds that there's many secrets that her mother kept from her. Not only that, but her mother is actually alive but is stuck in the past, so she has to use time travel along with her two new friends in order to save her. 

Okay, so you know how I said that I love historical fiction? Well I also love time travel. Combine those two together and then add in a romance and you've got me completely hooked. This book was honestly the perfect combination of all three.

In regard to characters, I absolutely loved them all. First of all, there's Hope, who is the main protagonist. She's extremely clever and strong. She's also pretty great at handling tough situations. I don't know what I would've done if I was told that my mom was trapped in the past and that I had to time travel back to get her. There was also Phoebe and Collum who went into the past with Hope. They were siblings and I really liked the both of them. They were wonderfully developed side characters. 
Outlander starz good news great news this is wonderful news
Last but not least, there's Bran. He was my favorite character! He actually met Hope before she travelled back into the past. Even though he may kind of push you away with his attitude, trust me when I say he's a good guy. You're going to like him!
Outlander i promise tv season 2 starz
I keep seeing that this book is perfect for fans of Outlander, which I have never watched or read. I'm definitely going to have to check it out while I anxiously await the sequel to Into the Dim!


2 comments:

  1. Ooooh, I haven't watched Outlander OR read Into The Dim... It seems I must do so soon! Awesome review; I loved the GIFS :D

    Emily @ Reader Rising

    ReplyDelete
  2. I saw mixed reviews for this book from some bloggers so I'm really glad to see someone with some positive things to say. I am still going to give this book a chance (eventually, first I need to get my hands on a copy) and your review helps remind me why I wanted to read it in the first place. From your review I can see why it's recommended to fans of Outlander because it is similar (maybe it's the Scottish setting) and I hope you watch it (or read it) because it's good.

    ReplyDelete

Hello there! (: Thanks so much for taking the time to comment. I read each and every one!