Thursday, January 14, 2016

Trendy Taglines | 2016 Releases

I don't know if you remember, but quite a few years ago I used to post this meme called "Trendy Taglines" that I had made up. The reason that I did was because taglines can sometimes be the reason why I pick up a book and read it. Just like covers, taglines can make it or break it, at least for me.

That's why I decided to bring the idea back for 2016! I always participate in memes that other people create, so I thought that for 2016 I'd try to participate in things that I make up myself, and of course, I thought of Trendy Taglines once again.

Today's post features taglines from 2016 releases that I can't wait to be released!


I originally heard about Firstlife on Netgalley and immediately requested it. I think it's still available for request on Netgalley, so if it sounds interesting to you, feel free to request it! The tale takes place in a world where your actual life is considered your "firstlife". They believe that your life really begins after your death, and there are different realms fighting for the main character's soul after her death. I believe that it's the first in a new trilogy and I'm super pumped because it sounds like something right up my alley! Plus, it's such a unique concept. I'm extremely curious to find out about what's worse than death in this story!

Before I start with Into the Dim, I want to talk about the cover. Look at it! It's so pretty and sophisticated, isn't it? I LOVE IT. This story follows a girl who finds out that her mom was part of some sort of time travel society, which is so AWESOME. Plus, it takes place during the age of Eleanor the Aquitaine and I've been craving a good historical fiction. Only 3 months left until this baby is released and then I can finally have my fix! Oh, did I mention that it takes place in Scotland? I'm a massive fan of the United Kingdom so of course that setting just adds to the intrigue for me. Of course, I also love the tagline on the front: "Her future is a thousand years in the past". It's just such a creative tagline to the point where it just makes me smile!

Please Don't Tell looks like it's going to be quite the contemporary/borderline thriller. The main character, Joy, kills a boy named Adam at a party because of what he did to her twin sister. She thought that nobody knew about what she did, but she ends up getting blackmailed because someone knows what she did that night. Creepy books about blackmail always intrigue me for some reason, probably because of the thriller factor. I'm assuming that the tagline has to do with the blackmail. I can't wait to see who the person is that is blackmailing her! 

This is another one that I'm actually lucky enough to have a copy of! My review won't be up until March, so keep an eye out for that. The story itself is about a girl who finds solace in someone she meets online. It looks like a pretty cute contemporary, though that concept could take a dark turn. *crosses fingers that it doesn't* I can't imagine what it would be like for the person you that you most need is someone you've never met in person. I assume that it wouldn't be the best feeling though. Keep an eye out for this one, it comes out April 5, 2016!

Before I even begin talking about this one, let's talk about the cover. IT'S SO GORGEOUS. I love the darkness of the cover along with the silvery city and red text. It's so beautiful. *tears up* The story takes place in NYC in a time where it is split between two different kinds of magic. The main character, Lucie, also comes to find out that her boyfriend, Ethan, has a doppelgänger. Things couldn't get much worse, right? I really want to know what the tagline is talking about when it mentions a city burning. Is it a metaphor? I DON'T KNOW, BUT I WANT TO.

This story sounds totally adorable. It's a road trip book about two friends who met online: Louis and Frannie. They both get something in the mail directing them to Texas and they both find things they've lost along the way. I'm super excited for this one because of the contemporary factor. I love contemporaries but a lot of them almost seem similar to me. This one sounds unlike any other contemporary that I've read before. 

This one is another cute contemporary! It's a love story, of course, but it's being pitched as perfect for fans of E. Lockhart and Jandy Nelson. I've read books by both of them and loved them all, so of course this one had to be on my list. It also appears that Vivi, one of the main characters, is keeping a secret from Jonah, the boyfriend, and it could potentially be dangerous. I can't wait to find out what that secret is!

Are you looking forward to any of these books? What are some of your favorite taglines?

16 comments:

  1. Ooh, I definitely plan on joining this meme! Taglines can definitely hook me in. One of my favorites is "Kneel or bleed" from Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard! Great post :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Ohh, I definitely want to read Tell me three things, it sounds so good, and I love the tagline! I recently discovered When we collided, and it sounds really great, too, I need to add it to my TBR! Great post! :)
    Marie @ <a href="http://drizzleandhurricanebooks.wordpress.com>Drizzle & Hurricane Books </a>

    ReplyDelete
  3. This is a fun meme! I am so interested in the first 2. The 3rd and 4th books look awesome as well. I don't usually pay attention to tagline, but I will definitely be looking at them from now on.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I remember this one! Nice to see it back... sharing taglines is always fun. :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. Great tag lines!!! I really love the one for Firstlife.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I already requested FirstLife on Netgalley. Nice taglines.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I love this post! I might sound silly but I didn't know those were called Taglines (you see, I'm a Spanish speaker).
    Happy reading!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I really like the look (and sound) of Please Don't Tell. Sounds very intriguing.
    Lynn :D

    ReplyDelete
  9. When we collided looks really good.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Please Don't Tell looks good and I don't think I've heard of it before. I saw someone on Twitter raving on The Lost & Found a few days ago.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Ooh, I really like this idea, I hope you keep doing them! :D Some of these books are on my TBR but I don't think I knew the taglines before I saw this post, now I'm even more excited to read these!

    ReplyDelete
  12. Oh I love this idea! And it's so true. A lot of the time, the tag lines are what get me to read books. And you definitely have me looking up a couple of these books, especially Tell Me Three Things and When We Collided. Thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  13. I really love this idea! Taglines can definitely get me hooked - sometimes even more than the actual blurb or cover. My favorites from the ones you listed are Please Don't Tell's and Into the Dim's.
    Wonderful post!
    Veronika @ The Regal Critiques

    ReplyDelete
  14. Love this idea and I never thought of taglines but so fun! THe one that intrigues me the most is Please Don't Tell -- definitely going to add to my TBR!!

    ReplyDelete
  15. This is such a fun meme! I've never really looked that much into the tagline of a book, but I will have to look into Firstlife and Please Don't Tell because of the tag lines now! I have Into the Dim. That one looks really good too!

    ReplyDelete

Hello there! (: Thanks so much for taking the time to comment. I read each and every one!