Wednesday, October 14, 2015

Velvet Undercover | Blog Tour!


Velvet Undercover By Teri Brown
Official Blog Tour October 12 - 19, 2015

VELVET UNDERCOVER
Author: Teri Brown
Release Date: October 20th, 2015
Publisher:  Balzer + Bray
Perfect for fans of Jennifer Donnelly and Libba Bray comes this page-turning historical spy thriller from Teri Brown, author of the Born of Illusion series.Samantha Donaldson's family has always done its duty for the British Crown. In the midst of World War I, seventeen-year-old Sam follows in their footsteps, serving her country from the homefront as a messenger for the intelligence organization MI5. After her father disappears on a diplomatic mission, she continues their studies of languages, mathematics, and complex puzzles, hoping to make him proud.When Sam is asked to join the famed women's spy group La Dame Blanche, she's torn—while this could be an unbelievable adventure, how can she abandon her mother, who has already lost a husband? But when her handlers reveal shocking news, Sam realizes she can't refuse the exciting and dangerous opportunity.Her acceptance leads her straight into the heart of enemy territory on a mission to extract the most valuable British spy embedded in Germany, known only as Velvet. Deep undercover in the court of Kaiser Wilhelm II, Sam must navigate the labyrinthine palace and its many glamorous—and secretive—residents to complete her assignment. To make matters worse she must fight a forbidden attraction to the enemy—a dangerously handsome German guard. In a place where personal politics are treacherously entangled in wartime policy, can Sam find Velvet before it's too late . . . for them both?A thrilling story of one girl's journey into a deadly world of spy craft and betrayal—with unforgettable consequences.

Velvet Undercover was definitely a unique read; unlike anything I'd read before. To start off, the story follows a girl named Sam, who is a Girl Guide during World War I. Her father mysteriously went missing a while ago, and she and her mother haven't heard from him since, nor do they really know where he is. Therefore at home it's just Sam and her mother. After being asked to join La Dame Blanche which is a spy association, Sam doesn't want to say yes even though she's heard a lot about it as a Girl Guide. She can't leave her mother at home alone. However, she ends up accepting and is swept off to training. She's told that her mission will involve a girl named Velvet.

I loved this book! It was a very fast-paced read, which I liked. I mean, nobody likes a slow book! I also loved Sam as a character, and it was very cool that she was part of the Girl Guides so early on. I've been a Girl Scout almost all my life, so it was cool to see another girl's organization portrayed in a book during such a time of distress. 

Another thing I liked about Samantha was that she was incredibly smart. She even wanted to go to college and major in math. On top of that, she could speak five languages and easily translate these languages within minutes! I know for a fact that I can't do that. However, I do only know French and English! Also, there was a love interest and I really liked that.

Velvet Undercover took place in Europe, which as an American, I absolutely ate up. This was a great historical fiction read, and I'll be on the lookout for more by Teri Brown in the future. I don't read historical fiction enough!



PRAISE FOR VELVET UNDERCOVER
“A slow-burning tale of espionage and deceit that explores the complexities and moral uncertainties of war.” (Kirkus Reviews)

“A taut and swiftly paced historical spy mystery, filled with suspense and surprising plot twists...A great fit for fans of Elizabeth Wein’s Code Name Verity.” (School Library Journal)
"Clever, impetuous Samantha Donaldson is a delight to follow through the murky world of the German court in this twisty tale of espionage and forbidden romance.” Katherine Longshore, author of Gilt, Tarnish
"Brown's latest is a pulse-racing, whip-smart thriller that kept me guessing until the end."
—Cat Winters, Morris Award Finalist for In the Shadow of Blackbirds

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Well behaved women rarely make history. Teri Brown lived that quote way before she ever even heard it. The two things she is most proud of, (besides her children), is that she jumped out of an airplane once and beat the original Legend of Zelda video game.  She's a novel writer, head banger, pet keeper, math hater, cocktail drinker, booty shaker, book reader, city slicker, food fixer, rule breaker, wine sipper and word scribbler. She loves her husband, children, puppies and chocolate. 
Facebook: www.facebook.com/teri.foremanbrown
Twitter: @teribrownwrites
IG: Teriforemanbrown


GIVEAWAY

One Grand Prize Winner will get:
- One signed hardback copy of Born of Illusion
- One signed hardback copy of Born of Deception
- One drawstring spygirls bag from the International Spy Museum
- One tablet of spy paper that dissolves when wet
- One password required lock and key journal
- Two black light spy pens
- One pair of brass spyglasses with brass rope chain (Perfect for spying!)

Must be 13 + To Enter | Ships in US Only
This giveaway will be cross-posted on the release day celebration  


Tour Schedule:

October 12th  Such A Novel Idea REVIEW
October 13th Curling Up With A Good Book TEN RANDOM THINGS
October 14th  Downright Dystopian REVIEW
October 15th  The Book Cellar REVIEW
October 16th  Bookaholics Anonymous REVIEW + MUSIC PLAYLIST
October 17th One Night Book Stand REVIEW
October 18th  The Cover Contessa TEN'S LIST
October 19th A Dream Within A Dream REVIEW + EXCERPT

No comments:

Post a Comment

Hello there! (: Thanks so much for taking the time to comment. I read each and every one!