Saturday, July 11, 2015

Blog Tour & Giveaway: Don't Ever Change by M. Beth Bloom!



Title: Don't Ever Change
Author: M. Beth Bloom
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: July 7th 2015

Eva has always wanted to write a modern classic—one that actually appeals to her generation. The only problem is that she has realized she can't "write what she knows" because she hasn't yet begun to live. So before heading off to college, Eva is determined to get a life worth writing about.
Soon Eva's life encounters a few unexpected plot twists. She becomes a counselor at a nearby summer camp—a job she is completely unqualified for. She starts growing apart from her best friends before they've even left for school. And most surprising of all, she begins to fall for the last guy she would have ever imagined. But no matter the roadblocks, or writer's blocks, it is all up to Eva to figure out how she wants this chapter in her story to end.
Perfect for fans of E. Lockhart, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell,Don't Ever Change is a witty, snarky, and thought-provoking coming-of-age young adult novel about a teen who sets out to write better fiction and, ultimately, discovers the truth about herself.

The second I heard about Don't Ever Change, I knew that it'd be a book I'd enjoy. Eva dreams of being a writer and has just graduated high school. She will be attending Emerson College in the fall, for the Writing, Literature & Publishing major. Every time she thinks of a new writing idea, she jots it down somewhere so that she won't forget it. Eva decides that she needs to be a little more adventurous in order to bring other elements into her writing, so she ends up working at a day camp with younger girls. She has a CIT named Alyssa and tons of little girls that she's now in charge of. She ends up getting all the girls to write in journals!

Eva has never been the kind of person to go to parties, but she decided to go to a graduation party right after her graduation. She ends up meeting a guy named Elliot there, who is part of a band and graduated from a different school a year ago. They end up getting together, though he has to leave to go on tour. The reader is also introduced to Foster, who is totally sweet and awesome. He and Eva were kind of rivals in school, because they were both so into creative writing. Now, they get to know each other differently during camp in the summer.

I think what made this book a winner for me is Eva. She is so relatable because she's like me in many ways. She wants to be a writer and writes her ideas down all the time (I do the same). She's also going to Emerson, which is my dream college, and she's majoring in the same major that I'm interested in! It's just so cool to read about a character who is so similar to you in some respects. Of course, she does some things that I'd never do, though I don't want to spoil.

Eva grew so much as a character throughout this book, which I loved. She also gained some new friends, which was good for her because she needed to break out of the box a little and not rely so much on her other friends from high school. One of the coolest aspects of this book was the fact that the story read like it was written by Eva in the respect that she experienced everything that she experienced that summer just so she could write about it later. It makes me wonder when she wrote it. Was it an assignment in college years later, or did she just write about her adventures at the end of summer in order to make it sort of like a memoire? 

I'm definitely excited to read more by M. Beth Bloom in the future, and I'll be sure to check out her other book that's already been published. Don't Ever Change is a fantastic summer read filled with friendship, family, and summer camp adventures!




"Whatever you decide to do someone else has already done it, and is still doing it. So all you can really hope for is to add your own twist somehow."

"You're not alone if you have your books and your pen and your ideas."

"This isn't like a love story really, because no one's in love yet, but it is a sad story because maybe we could've been in love if there'd only been more time."

"We're so literary, Foster and I; our stories have stories inside of them. Like how this is the story of a boy dying unexpectedly, but when you dig deeper, it's also about two people finding one another after years of being right in front of each other's faces."

"I guess we're on different wavelengths. And that's the thing about wavelengths-they're not waves. You can't ride them alone; you have to ride them together."

"If literally everyone likes you, it's probably because you're generic and bland, which is the opposite of what I want to be."

"I guess sometimes you do something you've never ever done, yet it's really not so pivotal. Sure, it's notable, so you take note-there it is, noted-and then the universe nudges you to just move it along."

"Maybe seventeen is just one of those years during that annoying phase of life called Immaturity when you haven't experienced much more than a nine-year-old but you're supposed to act like you have."

"This all shall pass, even this moment, and this moment, and yes, even this moment, right now, that we're living through right now, even if it's a wonderful moment, doesn't matter, it's just got to pass. There it goes, and there that goes, and there this moment goes too."

"That's what lifts us up, us writers: we have our imagination, if nothing else."


 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg




Follow the Don't Ever Change by M. Beth Bloom Blog Tour and don't miss anything! Click on the banner to see the tour schedule.






M. Beth Bloom is a novelist and a screenwriter. Her fiction has appeared in StoryQuarterly and Dave Eggers's Best American Nonrequired Reading series. She is also the author of Drain You. M. Beth lives in Los Angeles.




INTERNATIONAL




4 comments:

  1. Wow, I don't think I'd heard of this book before! It reminds me of Sarah Strohmeyer's Smart Girls Get What They Want, except possibly even more relatable on the whole writing/publishing front. Thanks for sharing this book!
    -Lina @ Every Book a World

    ReplyDelete
  2. This book looks and sounds fantastic. Also, the cover is really unique! *grabby hands*

    ReplyDelete
  3. This sounds like a great book , it looks like she grows as a character a lot and has a great influence on the kids at the camp. Nice reviews.

    I love those first two quotes especially!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I love the cover for this one, but unfortunately it was about the only thing I liked about it. I just didn't connect with Eva at all, and I didn't like her, so I think that sort of ruined this one for me. Anyway,, great review and I'm glad you enjoyed this one! =)

    ReplyDelete

Hello there! (: Thanks so much for taking the time to comment. I read each and every one!