Monday, April 13, 2015

Book Review: White Space by Ilsa J. Bick

18007632Title: White Space
Author: Ilsa J. Bick
Publisher: Egmont USA
Release Date: February 11, 2014
Source: Library
Genre: Horror/Thriller
Edition: Hardcover (560 pages)

In the tradition of Memento and Inception comes a thrilling and scary young adult novel about blurred reality where characters in a story find that a deadly and horrifying world exists in the space between the written lines.
Seventeen-year-old Emma Lindsay has problems: a head full of metal, no parents, a crazy artist for a guardian whom a stroke has turned into a vegetable, and all those times when she blinks away, dropping into other lives so ghostly and surreal it's as if the story of her life bleeds into theirs. But one thing Emma has never doubted is that she's real.
Then she writes "White Space," a story about these kids stranded in a spooky house during a blizzard.
Unfortunately, "White Space" turns out to be a dead ringer for part of an unfinished novel by a long-dead writer. The manuscript, which she's never seen, is a loopy Matrix meets Inkheart story in which characters fall out of different books and jump off the page. Thing is, when Emma blinks, she might be doing the same and, before long, she's dropped into the very story she thought she'd written. Trapped in a weird, snow-choked valley, Emma meets other kids with dark secrets and strange abilities: Eric, Casey, Bode, Rima, and a very special little girl, Lizzie. What they discover is that they--and Emma--may be nothing more than characters written into being from an alternative universe for a very specific purpose.
Now what they must uncover is why they've been brought to this place--a world between the lines where parallel realities are created and destroyed and nightmares are written--before someone pens their end.
 I had been wanting to read this book for the longest time because it just sounds so amazing. I mean, that synopsis... it just draws you right in! I have to say that the synopsis is a bit misleading though. I went into this story thinking that that a main plot line of the story would be this story that Emma had written, but it honestly wasn't. Just bear that in mind when you give this one a read.

I've seen countless reviews on this novel saying that it was way too confusing for them so they just decided to DNF it. Let me just say, this book was very confusing for about the first 400 pages, but I'm pretty sure that the author intended it to be this way, because towards the end all the answers are revealed to the reader and it all suddenly makes sense. If you're going to read this book, take the confusion with ease and let it twist your mind, because in the end, it will all make sense.

The characters were really great. I have to say that my favorite character would probably be Emma or Eric, just because they were the best. Lizzie was a bit odd and confusing and she definitely didn't talk like a five year old, but then again this book wasn't really realistic so those boundaries could be pushed.

This book was extremely gory. Bick is not afraid to scare you to the point where you have trouble falling asleep at night. Some scenes in this book were extremely graphic and horrific, though Bick does a great job with these scenes. She leaves nothing out. Even though it's gross, it's a huge part of the story.

alice in wonderland so confusing gif

Upon finishing this book, I'm still trying to understand what happened. All I know is that I'm extremely looking forward to reading the next book, especially after that ending. I am just hoping that all of the characters will be in the next book because I want to read more about this gang of characters!

Rating:
Have you read this book? I'd love to hear your thoughts!

9 comments:

  1. Even though it's confusing, for some reasons I suddenly became interested to read this. It could be because it's confusing and I like that you assured that everything will somehow be clear later on. And the gore! I really want to read something like that. Nice review! I'm adding this to my tbr list! :)

    czai @ the Blacksheep Project

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I got extremely scared after reading reviews and seeing that it was so confusing that they decided to DNF so I thought I'd tell people that it does get better! I hope you enjoy it. :)

      Delete
  2. I'm pretty positive going through 400 pages to get to the point would thoroughly annoy me but kudos to you for getting through it and enjoying it!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I have this book on audio and eBook and I am STILL debating on whether or not TO read it and if so, which format. I am glad to hear that things make sense towards the end. Also, love gory! Her book Ashes was the same way!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'd probably go eBook, just because it would take so much longer to listen to audio. I'll have to check out Ashes!

      Delete
  4. Thanks for the great review. I have always wanted to read this and even checked it out once and never got to it. I may have to eventually pick it up again. I don't mind confusion as long as it keeps me interested.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You're welcome! I hope that if you read this one, you stick it through.

      Delete
  5. I'm glad you enjoyed this book. I really, really wanted to stick with it but I'm one of those that ended up DNFing. I do know that others have said you get to know what happens in the end, but I just couldn't get past all the gore and disturbing images. BUT to each his own. Reading and reviewing is so subjective. I'm always happy to see if someone else liked something, even if I didn't.

    Shannon @ The Tale Temptress

    ReplyDelete

Hello there! (: Thanks so much for taking the time to comment. I read each and every one!