Saturday, January 17, 2015

Book Review: The Dare by Hannah Jayne

18478536
Title: The Dare
Author: Hannah Jayne
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Release Date: July 1, 2014
Source: Publisher for Review
Edition: eArc
Genre: Mystery

Two jumped off the pier that night... but only one came back alive.
Bryn did everything with her best friend Erica. So when someone dared Erica to jump off the pier one night at Harding Beach, Bryn was right by her side. But when Bryn made it back to the surface, Erica was nowhere to be found. Bryn tries to make a fresh start by burying her memories of that awful night. But a Twitter post from "EricaNShaw" pops up on her feed and a chilling voice mail appears on her phone, she realizes that someone isn't ready to let go of the past....

Basically, The Dare is about two best friends: Erica and Bryn. They did absolutely everything together just like all normal best friends do. Except one night, they were partying and drinking and Erica got dared to jump into the water. Being the best friend that she is, Bryn decides to do it too. So they jump into the water, but Erica is nowhere to be seen afterwards. Only Bryn comes back up to the surface and is still alive. Nobody knows where Erica is, because her body couldn't be found anywhere.

Though the synopsis for this book makes it seem like a super creepy suspenseful thriller, I didn't exactly find this book to be all that suspenseful or thrilling at all. I mean yeah, the whole "I survived but my best friend didn't and now is nowhere to be found" does seem kind of creepy at times, but it didn't get so creepy that it gave me goosebumps and chills going up my spine.

Even though it wasn't all that thrilling, I was definitely really into the whole story line. I actually finished this book in a day, which doesn't happen all that often for me. Reading a book will usually take me a day or two, sometimes even a week, but I was just emotionally invested. I think this book would be perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars.

I found this book to be okay. I didn't not dislike it or anything but I didn't love it. It's worth the read if you're looking for a quick mystery book, because the mystery definitely kept me interested. I wanted to know what happened to Erica and everything, which kept me reading the book and flipping the pages. I have heard really great things about Hannah Jayne's other novels, so I may have to check them out for more mystery reads.

Rating:


Have you read this novel? I'd love to hear your thoughts!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Hello there! (: Thanks so much for taking the time to comment. I read each and every one!