Monday, May 5, 2014

Book Review: A Living Nightmare by Darren Shan

8962
Title: A Living Nightmare
Author: Darren Shan
Publisher: Little, Brown Young Readers
 Release Date: June 1, 2002
Source: Purchased
Edition: Paperback (272 pages)
Genre: Paranormal
Series: The Saga of Darren Shan #1

In the tradition of Stephen King's 'Salem's Lot', Cirque Du Freak is the frightening saga of a young boy whose visit to a mysterious freak show leads him on a journey into a dark world of vampires. Filled with grotesque creatures, murderous vampires, and a petrifying ending, Cirque Du Freak will chill, thrill, and leave readers begging for more.
 I watched the movie for this series a few months ago, so I decided it's time I give this series a read. The movie is based off of the first three books, which is pretty cool.

Darren is just a normal kid at school, though one day he and his buddies find a flyer for a freak show, so of course they decide to try to go. His friend Steve goes to get the tickets, though he finds that you're only allowed to buy two tickets per every flyer, and sadly he only has one flyer. Thus only two of the foursome of friends gets to go. Of course, Darren ends up getting to go along with Steve.

At the freak show, the boys are amazed. Darren is especially amazed by Madame Octa, who is a spider that can be controlled by playing a flute. His friend Steve, however, is mesmerized by the person in which Madame Octa belongs to, as he claims to know who the guy really is. After the show, instead of going straight home, Steve tells Darren that he needs to go and talk to the guy, so he tells Darren to just meet him at his house. Of course, Darren being the person that he is, he follows Steve and listens to the whole conversation. Mr. Crepsley, the guy who owned the spider, is actually a vampire, and Steve asks that he become one as well or he will tell everyone that the guy really is a vampire. Mr. Crepsley tests Steve's blood and finds that he has evil blood, so he can't become a vampire.

A few days later, Darren decides to go and steal Madame Octa, leaving a letter that says he knows that Mr. Crepsley is a vampire and so he should be able to keep the spider or he will turn Crepsley in. One day while playing with the spider, Steve gets bitten, which is fatal because of how poisonous the spider is. Mr. Crepsley ends up coming back for the spider, though he strikes a deal with Darren. Darren is to become Mr. Crepsley's assistant, which means he will have to become a vampire too, in order for his friend to be restored back to full health. Darren agrees to this, and the rest of the book basically explains what happens after that.

This book reminded me of Goosebumps for older kids. It was really intriguing. I loved Darren's character and the fact that he really didn't want to become a vampire though he would become one just for his friend to stay alive. It's really nice of him. He's selfless. I also loved Steve's character, and how he wanted to become a vampire and he would even leave all of his friends behind just to become one because of what it meant to him. Darren and Steve are complete opposites of each other yet they are still best friends.

I read this book really fast since it was pretty short, so I'd definitely recommend picking this one up if you're looking for a quick, easy read.

Rating:
Have you read this novel? I'd love to hear your thoughts!

2 comments:

  1. I loved this series as a kid, it was pretty much my reason for living! That's quite extreme but it was really great. The series continues well and is really well tied up and linked and blah blah blah but the ending is so disappointing!!
    So worth continuing though. Darren Shan does know how to write a good story.
    And Darren is quite selfless but can be naive. The film really does the books no justice.
    I hope you enjoy the series as much as I did!
    Aimes @ aimeerobyn.blogspot.co.uk

    ReplyDelete
  2. And though obviously appreciative of the effect of blood replica handbags and gore in movies, he knows there a line between chilling or even disturbing an audience and just being unpleasant. That line of discomfort hermes outlet is drawn closer when women become the targets of violence, and in Hostel Part 2, it obvious that he taken care not to go over that line between fendi outlet the artful or shocking scare (or gross-out) and the outright repellent and offensive. He also knew that sequels are often most satisfying when treated as a direct rolex submariner replica continuation, thus the 2 title. Job one of any horror sequel unless they take the cop out in name only route is to deal with the survivors of the gucci replica previous film mayhem. Roth does so with a semi-tribute to Friday the 13th Part 2 a sequence that unfortunately contains the same kind of cheat replica belts, but provides a nice introductory mix of unease, shocks and humor.

    ReplyDelete

Hello there! (: Thanks so much for taking the time to comment. I read each and every one!