Wednesday, November 27, 2013

Waiting on Life, A.D.!


Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine. This meme spotlights upcoming releases that bloggers are eagerly waiting for.

Welcome to Atman Station, where the only thing harder than getting out is getting through.
A moment’s distraction sends Dez headlong into a violent collision of steel and screaming brakes. Her newly departed soul is trapped between worlds, and the train that sweeps her up and delivers her to Atman Station won’t be giving her a ride to the sweet hereafter until she comes to grips with her abrupt end and lets go of the life she knew.
The beautiful and enticing Atman City—a stunning metropolis strictly off-limits to underage souls—only makes things worse. Lured into the forbidden city where the souls of the wicked who walked the earth wait in limbo for their shot at redemption, Dez is quickly targeted by an infamous murderer’s promise of contact with the living, taking advantage of her desperate desire to save her suicidal mom. In the dark, far-flung corners of Atman City, Dez will learn frightening lessons—being dead doesn’t mean she’s safe, and to survive the afterlife, she must let go of the life she no longer has.

Life, A.D. will be released on December 10 by Month 9 Books.

Wednesday, November 20, 2013

Waiting on Uninvited!

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine that features upcoming books that we're looking forward to!
The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

Uninvited will be released February 24, 2014 by HarperTeen.

Saturday, November 16, 2013

Stacking the Shelves (30)

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews.
 
Uh, so I haven't done one of these in a while, so I decided it's about time I do one! Here's all the books I've gotten since August!
 
When the World Was Flat (and we were in love)Cracked (Soul Eater, #1) 
When the World was Flat (and We Were in Love) by Ingrid Jonach
Cracked by Eliza Crewe
Thank you to Strange Chemistry!
 
Pawn (The Blackcoat Rebellion, #1) 
Pawn by Aimee Carter
Thanks HarlequinTeen!
 
The Naturals 
The Naturals by Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Thank you Disney Hyperion!
 
Goodbye, Rebel BlueSick 
Good Bye, Rebel Blue by Shelley Coriell
Sick by Tom Leveen
Thank you Abrams!

Wednesday, November 13, 2013

Waiting on White Space!

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine that features upcoming books that we're looking forward to!


Ilsa Bick’s WHITE SPACE, pitched as The Matrix meets Inkheart, about a seventeen-year-old girl who jumps between the lines of books and into the white space where realities are created and destroyed – but who may herself be nothing more than a character written into being from an alternative universe, to Greg Ferguson at Egmont, in a two-book deal, by Jennifer Laughran at Andrea Brown Literary Agency (NA).








White Space will be released February 11, 2014 by Egmost USA.

Wednesday, November 6, 2013

Waiting on Mistwalker!

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine that features upcoming books that we're looking forward to!

When Willa Dixon’s brother dies on the family lobster boat, her father forbids Willa from stepping foot on the deck again. With her family suffering, she’ll do anything to help out—even visiting the Grey Man.

Everyone in her small Maine town knows of this legendary spirit who haunts the lighthouse, controlling the fog and the fate of any vessel within his reach. But what Willa finds in the lighthouse isn’t a spirit at all, but a young man trapped inside until he collects one thousand souls.

Desperate to escape his cursed existence, Grey tries to seduce Willa to take his place. With her life on land in shambles, will she sacrifice herself?




Mistwalker will be released February 4 by Harcourt Children's Books.

Friday, November 1, 2013

Playlist with Heather Terrell!

Heather Terrell, author of Relic, was kind enough to share a playlist for her new book! I'm a huge music lover myself, so this is super interesting! I have yet to read her book, though I highly suggest you check it out after this awesome playlist!

It’s so interesting that you ask about music and writing.  I used to require complete silence while I wrote.  But then, one day, a writer-friend and I were talking about difficulties I had shifting into writing after other parts of my day, and she made a suggestion.  She said that she’d just been reading an article in which scientists described the power music had to transition people into certain activities.  My friend thought that, if I played the same music every time I wrote the same piece, I should be able to write more easily.  What did I have to lose?  I tried it, and discovered she was right.  At first, I played with using quasi-period music, and given that RELIC takes place in a medieval-esque arctic island, I thought I should try something like Gregorian chants.  But I just couldn’t listen to them day after day.  So, during the writing of RELIC, I listened to music more to my taste: Coldplay’s Mylo Xyloto, with some Mumford & Sons’ Babel sprinkled in there and a little of Adele’s 21 for good measure.