Friday, November 2, 2012

Book Review: Juliet Immortal by Stacey Jay

Title: Juliet Immortal
Author: Stacey Jay
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Release Date: January 1, 2011
Source: Purchased
Edition: Hardcover (307 pages)
Genre: YA Paranormal Romance
Cover Review:  I really like this cover. It's very simple and I love the pops of red.
Tagline: Romeo and Juliet, the greatest love story ever told, is a lie.
Series: Juliet Immortal #1
Main Character: Juliet Capulet

Fans of Maggie Stiefvater's Shiver and Becca Fitzpatrick's Hush, Hush will relish this intense paranormal love story featuring Romeo and Juliet, literary history's most tragic couple, who meet again, not as true lovers, but truly as enemies.The most tragic love story in history . . .

Juliet Capulet didn't take her own life. She was murdered by the person she trusted most, her new husband, Romeo Montague, a sacrifice made to ensure his own immortality. But what Romeo didn't anticipate was that Juliet would be granted eternity, as well, and would become an agent for the Ambassadors of Light. For 700 years, she's fought Romeo for the souls of true lovers, struggling to preserve romantic love and the lives of the innocent. Until the day she meets someone she's forbidden to love, and Romeo, oh Romeo, will do everything in his power to destroy that love.
Juliet has lived for centuries trying to help others while Romeo pretty much does the opposite. Juliet tries to make connections of true lovers while Romeo tries to convince others to do exactly as he did-murder their loved one. This time when Juliet takes cover as a young girl who was in a car accident, something feels different. Final, in a way. This later leads to bigger ideas.


I read this book just because I've always been interested in the story of Romeo and Juliet. I'm hoping to read it soon, and so I decided to read this first. I absolutely loved the characters. Romeo was arrogant and annoying at times, but I felt that at other times in the novel we got to see the true him. Juliet was just a normal girl who lost her first love at the age of 14 when Romeo murdered her out of, according to him, "his love".


I thought that this was a great twist on the story. I really enjoyed reading it, especially because the writing was easier to read than most other classics. That's my favorite part about retellings. I loved this book so much and because of the ending, I'm definitely buying Romeo Redeemed. ASAP.





Rating:

Recommended for fans of:
Modern-day retellings
Classics
Romeo & Juliet
Paranormal Romance

6 comments:

  1. Yeah, you'll definitely want to check out Romeo Redeemed. I did not think it would manage to make Romeo sympathetic and yet it totally did! It's a great companion novel.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I really liked the concept of this book, but, personally, I wasn't crazy about the instalove between Juliet and Ben. I'm super excited to read Romeo Redeemed though--he was my favorite character in this book!

    ReplyDelete
  3. OMG I LOVED THIS BOOK! I definitely agree about the writing, but if you like twists on the classics you should check out For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund! It's AMAZING and it feels like you're reading a Jane Austen novel... it's crazy. Great review!!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'll be sure to check it out! I've seen it around before but I didn't know that it was a re-telling! Thanks so much for the recommendation!

      Delete

Hello there! (: Thanks so much for taking the time to comment. I read each and every one!